Current Location: English > Overview

Located in the historic city of Xi'an, cradle of Chinese civilization and terminus of the ancient Silk Road, Northwestern Polytechnical University (NPU) is the only multidisciplinary and research-oriented in China that is simultaneously developing education and research programs in the fields of aeronautics, astronautics, and marine technology engineering. It is now affiliated to the Ministry of Industry and Information Technology (MIIT). Since the establishment of the People's Republic of China (PRC), NPU has always been one of the nation’s key universities. In 1960 it was approved as a state key university by the State Council. It ranked among China’s top 15 universities in the state’s 7th and 8th Five-Year plans; and NPU is one of the first 22 universities to have established a graduate school. It was one of the first universities to enter into the 211 Project in 1995 and the 985 Project in 2001. NPU is a member of the "Outstanding University Alliance" program and is honored as a National Role Model Unit, a National Pioneer for Optimal Advanced Basic-level Party Organization and a Model University for Graduate Employment etc. NPU has put its roots down in the west; dedicated itself to national defense and written several “firsts” into the history of the PRC. Now NPU will continue to pioneer new pathways into the future in the process of building a world first-class university and world first-class disciplines.

School of Automation's origins can be traced back to the 1950s. In 1959, the “ninth department” was founded in Northwestern Polytechnical University, which contains majors of aircraft instrument sensor, aviation gyroscope design, optical Instrument and guidance, air micro-motor design, autopilot and etc. In 1953, the Air Force Engineering, Harbin Military Engineering Institute was established, containing the aircraft autopilot, aircraft electrical equipment, professional aviation fire and sights. And in 1970, it was moved to the “ninth department” of Northwestern Polytechnical University. The School of Automation was established in 2003 (the “ninth school”).

The school has 3 key specialties: Automation, Electrical Engineering and Robot Engineering; Bearer Control Science and Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Transportation Engineering, which all 3 first disciplines and 12 second disciplines, of which a national key second discipline and a national key (training) discipline, 5 provincial and ministerial second key disciplines; Including three postdoctoral station. Now, there are almost 1300 undergraduates, 810 master and 410 doctoral graduate students.